Wanna get drinks and then get married after?

By Dana S.

If you’re a college student, in your very late teens through mid-twenties, you probably live in a hookup culture. Americans have been long known to seek out that which will gratify us the soonest; we’re always looking for the quick fix with the easy getaway. Enter Tinder, the popular “dating” app that almost everyone in my age group knows about and that most people have probably used at least once. According to the Vox article “Seven questions about Tinder you were too embarrassed to ask,” a little more than thirty percent of users are on Tinder because they’re just curious, a little fewer are there because it’s entertaining, even fewer because they’re looking for a relationship, and the fewest are there because they’re looking for a quick hookup [i].

If a practice theorist were to look at young adults in America and their ideas about hookups and love, they would see something quite different than what those statistics say [ii]. In my experience as a human who occasionally uses the app, I have learned that most of us probably want some epic love story to come out of a date you snagged on Tinder, but when it comes down to it, we’re all perfectly happy to meet up with someone for a hookup. Are hookups love? No, probably not, but if you’re a college student looking to have some fun, either because “you’re just curious” or “you’re looking for a quick hookup,” [iii] Tinder could be the way to go. But (some of us might hope) maybe one out of thousands of Tinder hookups will lead to love down the road.

A feminist anthropologist could also examine the gender rules associated with Tinder [iv]. When posting photos for your profile, don’t post them with another girl (if you’re a guy) or with another guy (if you’re a girl) unless, of course, you specify in your blurb that he or she is just a cousin or a friend. The guy usually sends the first message, and he’s allowed to be as creepy as can be. “Wanna get drinks and then get married after?” is a one-liner that seems to be pretty popular. Girls have a lot of options: they can take that first creepy message and run with it, or they can turn it down quickly and easily. Of course, if girls message first, they can also get turned down, but it’s more likely that the guy will message the girl first. If things lead to a casual hookup, then other rules come into play, rules not necessarily associated with Tinder. It’s clear that Tinder has a lot to say in reflection of American love and hookup culture, and there’s a lot that can be explored with other dating apps and websites as well.

[i] Matthews, Dylan. “Seven questions about Tinder you were too embarrassed to ask.” Vox. Vox Media, 3 July 2014. Web. 10 October 2014.

[ii] Lecture, Professor Carole McGranahan, ANTH 2100 Frontiers of Cultural Anthropology, 6 October 2014.

[iii] See footnote [i] above

[iv] Lecture, Professor Carole McGranahan, ANTH 2100 Frontiers of Cultural Anthropology, 8 October 2014.

This entry was posted in Love Essay (2014). Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Wanna get drinks and then get married after?

  1. I wonder if there is a new theory in Anthropology that analyzes things through a technological lens? I wanted to chime in, and dive into what it means to do something like “hooking up” which can be personal, exposing, and dangerous (STIs, pregnancy, etc.,) through a phone app that can be a very impersonal/depersonalized experience. I would argue, based on the idea that men tended to message creepy one-liners, gives way to a socially acceptable version of upfront communication, in a depersonalized format. I think the dream that Tinder will lead to love, is unlikely, because people can intend to use it for “hooking up” not falling in love. Which leads to the question. Where do we find love in a college setting?

  2. Anna Wood says:

    I think it would be extremely interesting to go more into the subject of what love and human interaction means in the age of technology. The topic of Tinder is a perfect jumping off point, but then you can move into how you interact with people who you have met in person. I know from personal experience that a lot of flirting that happens in our time and age group is done over texting or snapchat. Even after this stage, you could assess what kind of relationships people who are already involved could have over technology. This could include people who are dating and their primary mode of communication is texting. Then, there are long distance relationships, and relationships over online dating sites, which kind of closes the circle back to the topic of Tinder. Basically, I think a very important question to ask is how relationships develop in a time when so much of our communication is through impersonal technology?

  3. I disagree with your generalization of young people. Although I do agree that there are a lot of college aged kids that are just looking for a hookup I don’t think that this applies to every young person. In fact, I think in our American culture a lot of people would look down on a person for constantly just looking for a hookup. In Europe, sexuality is much less of a taboo. There they have topless beaches, and even nudity in ads. I think culturally, we have a natural inclination to avoid this hookup culture, but our biological side makes us do it. As weird as it sounds, the way that I judge if something is culturally acceptable in my culture is if I would tell my parents about it. I think the fact that I wouldn’t talk to my parents about all of my sexual activity demonstrates that some part of me feels like I am doing wrong by doing it. I do agree with what Anna said though about how relationship dynamics have changed because of texting, and picture messaging. It adds a whole new dynamic to communication in relationships. Our age group has in a way pioneered this culture of communication, because it is a new technology. If our parents wanted to chat they would call a home phone, and could not reach eachother at work. I think this is both good and bad for relationships.

    • Cody Grenzke says:

      It sure has made talking to one another a whole lot easier, that is for sure. Websites like Twitter, MySpace, and Facebook make it simple to say hello with a simple word and a click of the “send” button.

      Also, I don’t know about you, but I’m kind of an old-fashioned guy myself. I kind of prefer to take things slow with a girl and talk to them first, get to know them. I prefer to find out what commonalities she and I have before I decide to go the next step and try to pique her interest. Relationships have a pretty hard time working out if the two people are quite opposite when it comes to personality (just my experience). There’s still hope out there! 😛

    • I think that in order to write a paper about an aspect of culture and analyze it in only 400-500 words, some generalizations have to be made. I think American culture on the whole can be generalized to always wanting instant gratification. I don’t think it’s unfair to say that college kids have a different idea about relationships than, say, people older (and presumably more mature) than us.

      The way you just the appropriateness of relationships is interesting. I have a very close relationship with both of my parents and, for the most part, can talk to them about anything. But still, I won’t tell them that a few weeks ago I met a guy on Tinder and less than two hours later was engaging in sexual activity with him. I think it’s interesting how we all judge ourselves and others based on what goes on in the privacy of our bedrooms.

    • daca4780 says:

      I like your point about the cultural differences in sexuality as well as the lax nature within Europe. I think with the United States being founded by Protestant pilgrims sort of sets the foundation for our views of sex and, how the correspond now with the differences between the US and Europe. Really interesting paper on a really popular app for people 17-30.

  4. Andrew Sullivan says:

    I think a lot of this hookup culture relates the so called “1% rule” of internet culture, where only 1% of the people engaging in a forum discuss it and create stories while the others just observe. The only time I hear about hookups are when a minority of people I know tell me about it, most of my conversations are about something else. The hookup is the 1% of conversations everything else is the lurking. I will concede that these opinions are my own experiences, my life is isolated in its own ways. My interactions with my friends and family are not the same interactions that others have, for them the hookup culture is much more common. As I am myself and not someone else, this is only conjecture.

    • I totally agree. Having a Tinder myself, I know that I’m a bit of a lurker. Sure, I swipe right and left, but when a guy actually messages me I’m reluctant to reply. Sometimes I do — usually if the guy doesn’t say something creepy. But of course, creepiness is inherent in Tinder culture. This whole conversation reminds me of that scene in “The Social Network” when they’re just starting to create Facebook and they mention how important the relationship status is — it’s college: people want to know who’s having sex and who isn’t. I think analyzing social media sites through an anthropological lens is fascinating, and this paper was great.

  5. Angela Gianficaro says:

    I agree with your statement about younger people wanting a “quick fix and easy getaway” to some extent. Although I have never downloaded the app myself, numerous friends of mine have it and use it frequently to go on dates or to generally meet people in their area. Very few of these friends have used the app for a quick hookup, which is surprising, but also shows that not all people within this specified age group are after the same thing. I do agree with your Feminist Anthropological view on the topic. There are certain gender roles seen on Tinder that are considered the norm. I mainly find your statement on the guy sending the first message quite accurate. Many other gender roles could be examined just by looking at the behaviors and patterns of Tinder users alone. This is a very interesting topic overall and can show a lot about love and how we display it today, especially through social media.

  6. Juliana says:

    Your mention of a “quick fix and easy getaway” is strong glimpse into the reality of our generation. We are living in such a fast paced lifestyle, that we have lost the patience to explore the possibilities of steady relationships like they did in the 50’s. We no longer go on dates (that would take too long), but instead swipe right to find the love of our lives. While apps like Tinder gives us freedom to explore our sexuality any way that we would like, it eliminates the real way to get to know a person and truly become infatuated with them.

    • Kaleigh C says:

      I agree, our generation is obsessed with the instant gratification of social media. Whether it’s getting 11 or more likes on your instagram picture, or how many retweets you get on twitter, there is some type of satisfaction that attracts us to social media. Especially on apps like Tinder where you find out almost immediately if there is a mutual attraction, it makes “meeting people under normal circumstances” less straight-forward as to just swiping left if you find someone annoying. I think our generation is attracted to this specifically for its time-saving and and accessible qualities.

      • Maddie Ohaus says:

        I totally agree with what both Kaleigh and Julianna mentioned. Instant gratification is very prevalent in our generated. It’s all about who you appear to be and how people respond to it. Whether your pictures get 100 likes or 10. I know many girls who use apps like Tinder to get instant gratification in the area of self-esteem. They would never meet up with the guys but knowing that there are hundreds of boys ready to be nice and try to meet them at the tip of their fingers keeps them from feeling bad about themselves appearance wise.

  7. Chelsea McGuire says:

    I’m not familiar with tinder so you look at the app was super interesting to me. It mostly made me think about how much technology allows us to act our every impulse, for better or worse. I’d be interested to learn more about how social medialife changes what are consider social norms and if there are two sets of rules for the two worlds. Tinder is especially interesting because it’s a colliding of both of these realities.

  8. Although I personally do not have a tinder, I know plenty of friends that do and use them frequently. I think this article is especially relevant in honing in on a very specific culture that has been created in a technologically savy university environment. Tons of people around your age, almost all with smart phones that allow access to a quick “dating” site that gives you quick lead to a hookup. In a hookup culture this seems so perfect! It would be interesting to look at this phenomenon through the practice theory lens that would look at what people are promoting through their tinder pages, and what the reality of their lives are. This could be extended to Facebook, twitter, and any other social media site that allows us to present our best and most picture ready selves. Very interesting article overall!

  9. Mackenzie Carson says:

    I enjoyed this article and thought it was a good analysis and representation of how social media has transformed our culture. Most boys our age wouldn’t walk up to a random girl and say “wanna get drinks and then get married after?” to her face, but they have no problem doing it over an app. Egos are amplified and impulse is more prevalent over social media and Tinder is a great example of that.

  10. Amy Knutson says:

    I liked the way you analyzed this popular app through different lenses. In the past, I took a course on technology and communication and it talked a lot about what you mentioned. I do think it would be interesting to go into more depth about WHY we have become more of a hookup culture. How does the economy play a role? How does the concept of “time is money” play into this? Does our cultural shift of trying to fit as much into one day as possible have anything to do with it?

  11. Cody Patten says:

    I found your article to be very interesting, reading this article it seemed to be spot on. Though I do not personally have the app, the majority of my friends do and it’s interesting because the majority would say they are just on it because they are curious, but if a hook up were to come out of it they totally would do this. I thought you did a very good job with the feminist view on the gender roles with Tinder. I also think this can be stereotyped in almost any social setting that the guy is suppose to approach the girl, or message her first.

  12. Taylor Hill says:

    First, the title of your article seems to sum up the culture of our age group. It seems that everyone in college is just looking for a “quick fix” as you said. It is also interesting to look at how we are more comfortable saying something completely outrageous online. Would someone in a social setting just walk up to someone and say, “hey want to get drinks and get married after?”. I think you did a great job with the feminist anthropology analysis also. It is completely true. I know that most people expect guys to be the ones to approach girls or “make the first move”. Tinder overall seems to be the quick fix for all of the above. Super interesting paper, great job!

  13. Maddie Wisell says:

    I enjoyed reading this article because it is very relevant to us. I think people are more okay with hooking up today because being a college student can be time consuming. Hooking up allows the people involved to experience the benefits of a relationship without having to deal with the time commitment and other requirements that an actual relationship demands. The two theories you chose were perfect at explaining the hookup culture and the different people involved. I would also add that a practice theorist would look at the basis of their theory: what people actually do versus what they say they do. Sex is more talked about today, but there are still some people who aren’t willing to share about their hooking up experience. One person can say they are against hooking up, but really they are doing it every weekend. I like how you brought the feminist perspective into it. I think people find it surprising that most women are more okay with hooking up than men are. It also brings equality into play because there isn’t anything expected involved for either person involved after.

  14. Julia Marino says:

    I really enjoyed reading this article due to how social media dating applications are very much a part of the hook up culture that we live in. I admired that in your essay you even went far enough to state that you use the application due to the mixed reactions that people do express when someone does state if they are a Tinder user. I think how you broke down how a feminist anthropologist would view the topic of Tinder was incredibly well done. I think looking at this topic through a feminist lens and relating the idea of how a guy should approach girls first is true. I think it would be interesting if this assignment was longer to go even farther to see if you could look at Tinder through the school of functionalism and apply the concept of binary opposites to this application.

  15. Stephanie Grossart says:

    I also wrote my essay on Tinder. The way you took Feminist theory and applied it to the pictures on your tinder profile is AMAZING. When advising my friends on what pictures to put up I would say pick one selfie, one with your family, and none with girls who are prettier than you. Those pictures can say a lot about a person when it is being viewed by a stranger. Tinder is tricky to navigate just like when meeting a person normally. Each action you chose to perform creates the relationship it will turn into. Similar to how you wrote about whether it would be a casual hook up or if something real comes out of it. I just celebrated my one year anniversary with my boyfriend and I can say that Tinder is worth a try.

    • Wow! You are one of the lucky ones who can actually say “we met on Tinder.” Congratulations! I think your comment about the photos is spot-on. The other week my guy friend was sorting through his photos trying to decide which ones to put on his Tinder profile, so my roommate and I were helping him out. Basically, if in one photo you’re playing some sort of instrument (preferably guitar), in another you’re wearing a suit or something like that, and in another you’re holding a cat, you’re golden. Swipe right. For girls, you’re absolutely correct — if you’re going to put up a group photo, you better be the prettiest one in it otherwise you’re just setting yourself up for failure.

  16. Taylor Thostenson says:

    I think this essay is something we can all relate to. Wether we have ever used Tinder, or frequent the app, your article made me realize how dating in our generation has truly changed from the sweet and innocent milkshake dates in the 50’s. I enjoyed how you related it to both of your theories, especially feminist anthropology and how it is our “role” to sit back and wait for the guy to approach us (or at least by societies standards). I enjoyed learning how an anthropologist might view this whole topic.

  17. Kelsey Spalding says:

    Very interesting essay and what a way to bring it into our own times and relate it to our own generation. I think everyone in college today agrees with your depiction of how things are in our current day and age and I would definitely agree with you describing our culture as more hook up based than date base. Nice incorporation of both feminist theory and practice theory. I think you applied them aptly. As for myself I do not use Tinder and have no desire to, but it was very interesting hearing your take on it. But an important thing to keep in mind is it is easy to generalize our culture and much more of what we do is evident just because of technological innovation, and even though it is not the 1950s anymore, things go on today just as they went on in the past. Hooking up and illicit affairs have always been and always will be apart of the discourse of romance, i think its just the sphere of secrecy has gotten smaller and what was once personal business is now increasingly public. But interesting essay and some really great thoughts.

  18. Larkin says:

    I think this paper is really interesting, because technology is becoming more and more a factor in much more than everyday life. It’s beginning to play a bigger and bigger part of determining our futures. This makes me think of the show Catfish, where people online trick others into thinking they’re someone else, usually to gain something, whether that’s for love or money or something else. I think technology gives people an easy opportunity to become a “better version” of themselves, which in turn creates this huge dynamic of mistrust in any relationship (hookup or long term) that we have been warned about time and again. I don’t think it’s healthy starting something with such mistrust in the other person. I think it’s interesting how easily love can be influenced by something as simple as an app.

  19. MelissaDanielle Lauro says:

    I think it is interesting to consider the void that tinder has filled or what it has taken the place of. Anyone with older relatives might know the nagging “when are you going to meet a nice girl/guy” or “are you seeing anyone” that are inevitably asked at family meet ups. I know from experience that my grandmother regularly mentions some ‘nice Jewish boy from a good family’ that she would love to set me up with. Perhaps Tinder is taking the role of that nosy friend or relative that always wants to set you up with someone.

  20. Logan Arlen says:

    The “quick fix” attitude in America has spread from our food to all facets of our culture. Instant gratification is what many college age people are looking for, even if they are on Tinder only as a means of entertainment. The possibility that something special could come of such a small effort is appealing and if not at least you got some amusement out of it.

  21. Helen says:

    I think its fascinating to think about Tinder as an emergence and contribution of the hookup culture. I like your use of feminist anthropology to look at tinder, because it is very apparent that the app enforces gender roles that are expected in a hookup culture. It is one of the reasons hooking up is becoming more and more casual, and less associated with romance. I think a good theory too look at the phenomenom of tinder would be functionalism. Through functionalism, the hook up culture can be looked at as a result of human and biological needs. In other words, society functions as a whole because all of it’s parts work together. The hook up culture can be seen as one of these parts of society created to meet basic human needs, that helps society function.

  22. Maddi Kraft says:

    This essay leaves me with a lot of interesting questions. I think it would be really intriguing to take this subject a little deeper. Love in todays young American society would be a great thing to do field research on. Tinder provides a really interesting lens into “what is love?”. has what love really means changed in the last couple of years? Also your notion of “a quick fix and an easy get away” is a great way of explaining todays young adults and there notions of what sex and love really mean. Really great essay! I hope to hear more about this in the future!

  23. Michaela Cavanagh says:

    I agree that Tinder is more of an app used for quick hookups compared dating websites such as eHarmony. However, I would be careful saying almost everyone who has a Tinder is using it for a hook up our age. I personally do not have Tinder on my phone, however I have bunch of friends do who use almost as a joke unfortunately. I would also point out the danger that Tinder can lead to when guys send out creepy messages. But in total I thought this was a cool twist on the topic of Tinder, great job!

  24. Camille says:

    Very interesting article. I have heard of Tinder, but never have ever desired to be apart of this culture. This may sound old school, but I find something more intriguing and traditional through meeting a new guy in person, whether it be through mutual friends, or even just a bar encounter. This internet sensation (especially young college students) has definitely become a “hook up culture.” I would love to do more research on why this shift has occurred over the last 5 years or so and if it may have any connection to young adult’s focus on developing their career, as apposed to starting a family at a younger age and getting married? Either way, great topic to think more about!

  25. Jessica Wentworth says:

    This was very interesting and It brought up some points that I had thought about before, but never actually in an anthropological sense. I agree with some of my classmates, It would be interesting to see what caused the shift in where and how love emerges in american culture and what caused the shift to change so drastically in the past few years. Its interesting to think how quickly technology transformed our society and all of the different ways we are now able to use it.

  26. Ben Sardinsky says:

    Tinder also points to a trend where parts of our lives are being trivialized into ‘games’ by app culture. The more complex sphere of romance and interpersonal relations is purported to be captured in a ‘swipe left/swipe right’ system in an attempt to make a marketable app. There are even apps today designed to help maintain a dating relationship, where you get points for doing things like checking in with your partner. From a marxist perspective you could analyze this behaviour as a market exploiting all possible natural resources into a product with demand. In this case those resources are emotions from the human heart and the product these developers are pushing is a romantic relationship (at least the increased likelihood of creating one_.

  27. Annie Birkeland says:

    I thought it was really interesting how you started off your post saying that if we are in a certain age range (high teens to mid twenties) we likely live in a hookup culture. Does that mean that this ideology only exists for a certain group of people, although as a whole we Americans are ‘always looking for a quick fix or easy getaway’? Do you think that the popularity of Tinder is perpetuated by people in a certain age group or by the culture of Americans? I think there is definitely a combination of reasons for why the app is popular, but it is interesting to look at the varying causes for why Tinder is unbelievably popular.

  28. Carly Morrison says:

    Tinder is a very interesting dating practice to look at through the lens of love in our culture. I find that technology leads us to more superficially based interactions with people we don’t know. It is a realm where we can represent ourselves in whatever light we choose, illuminating the parts we think others will find “cool” or desirable and downplaying those traits that we do not choose to show the world. My roommate had tinder for a while and I remember thinking how superficial the picking and choosing went. She would spend seconds glimpsing at the person and quickly discard the ones she didn’t like (based simply on appearances) and maybe reading the profile of the others. With the ones she did like, she would talk about how this photo has a girl, this one has a dog, etcetera, etcetera. It all made me wonder if when trying to make connections through technology certain levels of superficiality are more acceptable? If this is true, then how could this “dream of love” through tinder ever truly be achievable?

  29. Jacqueline Joyal says:

    The GPS capabilities of Tinder remind of a time when random chatting sites were popular. Sites like Omegle, ChatRoulette, and ChatRandom were originally a gathering point for people looking to talk with someone at random, but they quickly turned into hookup sites. However, unlike Tinder, these sites were not used with GPS. This brought along the typical greeting of “asl” or age, sex, location. Tinder seems to be doing the same thing that these sites used to do, but more efficiently and without the pretense of merely providing a random person to speak with. What will the next step in this cultural hookup evolution look like?

  30. Nayantara Nelson says:

    This is a really interesting topic and your point on how our generation is looking for that “quick fix” brings up the question of how technology has completely altered our way of finding “the significant other.” Looking at you article through a cultural evolutionary lens, points out the crucial first steps that many people our age had to take in the past when finding a love connection. There was the first meeting, or introduction, and the first conversation (which was not based on listed facts, unlike online dating websites nowadays). I suppose we could go beyond how this affects finding a relationship and look at how this changed the entire makeup of a relationship. Also, considering factors other than the obvious of contemporary society, we could possibly tie this to the heightening divorced rates.

  31. Kirsten Jaqua says:

    Interesting analysis! I liked the way you used practice theory, though I feel like you could have really dug into that aspect. If you had time to make this into a longer research paper, it’d be a cool theory to study Tinder through. You could get into the ‘reasons people use Tinder’ and see how honest they really are too, based on what people end up getting out of the relationships they foster through it.

    I do think the guy messaging first seems to be a social norm that’s overall followed in dating in the US. Out of curiosity, I wonder if the semi-facelessness of the Tinder app makes people any bolder in terms of asking, though.

  32. Alex S. says:

    It is interesting to consider love and technology, as technology allows our generation to be more curious and courageous. Online love websites, or applications like tinder, allow us to expose ourselves without really exposing ourselves. Technology acts as a mask, giving us the confidence to message someone for a hookup or accepting the creepy message. Getting rejected is not nearly as terrifying when it’s online as it is in person. You have time to think of what to say and you have the excuses to justify the rejection. I would definitely say that hooking up has become more of a culture in our generation due to technology.

  33. AYURU KONDO says:

    I think it is interesting. This is a first time I heard about Tinder. Also, first time hear In Japan, we have bad impression about there app. Might be not in America? I think this is really American culture. People want easy relationship by SNS. I think this is a began from 2000- (might be 2005-?). In Japan, it occurred many crime form there app, so people had bad impression of it. However might be this is a fit for American easy going culture.

  34. Josie Anderson says:

    I’m not really familiar with Tinder and I still don’t fully understand it. But I thought this was interesting topic to write about. I think it would be really interesting to compare all of the different dating apps and social media (tumblr, twitter, instagram) and how people hook up on there and maybe are looking for something other than love or hookups in contrast to on Tinder. I feel like every different app has its own kind of ‘mini-culture’ and it would be interesting to look at the differences regarding love/relationships.

  35. Cody Grenzke says:

    Actually, I have never heard of Tinder.com before and the very first time I heard of it was watching a YouTube video of “ThatsGoodBroncos” when the Jets and the Broncos faced off against each other and the commentator made a reference to the website.

    Is it a decent website to check out, in your opinion? I currently use Meetme.com, but the quality of the users in general on the website are sort of sub-par, considering how rude and boring most of the people using the app can be. Maybe I can check it out…

  36. Sydney Britsch says:

    I agree that hookup culture is very prevalent in college life and is exemplified through apps like Tinder. I thought the two theories that were used worked well for this topic, but maybe could have been explained more thoroughly. I also wish you could have explained the rules after a casual hookup from Tinder a little more at the end and connected that with your idea of a quick fix with an easy getaway. I really like the word choice of “the quick fix with the easy getaway.” We can expand the idea of a quick fix or of instant gratification to many aspects of todays culture. For instance, one idea that sticks out in my mind is health. It seems like everyone is always looking for the next weight loss pill that requires no change in diet or activity and promises results almost instantly. The idea of instant gratification that you discussed is very intriguing.

  37. Kayla McClelland says:

    I really loved this essay. It was a little comical that I read this blog after listening to a friend’s tinder story just minutes before. My friend was explaining to me that while it was fun and entertaining to chat with people from Tinder, the real reason for her participation in Tinder was not to actually meet people but just as a harmless source of self-confidence. I thought this was an interesting take on the ‘hook-up’ app. The superficial “swipe left or right” concept offers the most honest evaluation of your attractiveness from the opposite sex. It is almost like social experiment to see exactly what type of the opposite sex, or the sex you are interested, is interested in you and thinks you are attractive. I think this could also be analyzed with the practice theory.

  38. Frank Minor says:

    it is interesting how all of these social media sites and apps address love. In this case, is more on the hookup side of things, and not the relationships, and it kind of makes you wonder where these sites will be like further down the road. I am sure there will be many types for many different groups of people and their interests. Also, I kind of wonder if it will ever have an impact on human to human interaction and dating, I doubt it, but sometimes the world seems to be moving closer and closer to web based relationships running the world? I hope that was written awkwardly. Happy Halloween people.

  39. Charlie Travis says:

    I’m glad you touched on Tinder and youth dating culture because its a subject with tons of room for analysis. I loved how you used Feminist Theory to illustrate the gendered rules of what pictures you put up., i.e., the classic avoidance of putting up pictures with people who may be more attractive than you. The way you split Tinder users into people who just want a hookup and people actually hoping for a tinder match leading to a relationship or love down the road was interesting too because often when people think about the identity of a “tinder user” they’re going to automatically assume certain characteristics when in reality the user demographic is much more stratified then we may assume.

  40. Brian Clark says:

    The vast majority of people that use Tinder (which isn’t very much to begin with) typically get it initially because of curiosity and then if they continue to use it it is usually just out of boredom. I feel like it is a rarity for people to use Tinder to actually hook up with people beause of the insane amount of “what-if’s” in the scenarios that arise from meeting someone you meet on a free cellphone app.

  41. Christian Rencken says:

    To me, Tinder is the Bane of relationships and hookups. I personally do not have it, but I live with some people who do, and who have slept with many women because of it. Having said that, the application is definitely blowing up, and has become quite successful. Disgustingly enough, yesterday one of my friends told me about a new app called Thrinder which is the same as tinder, but it connects you to two others instead of one in order to have a threesome.
    Looking through the eyes of a practice theorist is probably the most appropriate anthropological theory to write about with this topic. It is a rarity to hear someone admit, “I have tinder because I want one night stands,” when this usually is the fact of the matter.

  42. Stephanie Scattergood says:

    With how popular Tinder is on college campuses, this essay was super interesting! I’d be curious as to how popular Tinder is in other areas, though. My brother who lives in Minnesota has told me it was not as popular there- so does Boulder’s party school reputation have to do with how many people are using it? Also, what impact does this have in terms of young people using technology as a way to connect to one another in these ways? Overall great essay, I definitely enjoyed the use of practice theory!

  43. Alexis Johnson says:

    This is super interesting. You don’t actually think about the “rules”, as you say, until someone points it out. Also I’ve found that people enjoy going on tinder just to look at the pictures and talk about them with their friends. It’s a weird thing that’s come into society, but it’s been 100% accepted without any questions.

  44. Amy Messina says:

    I loved reading this and it was interesting to see the theories being applied. You took a popular app found across colleges and molded it into its proper meaning. I personally have never used Tinder but I know a multitude of people who do. They personally use it as a way to fight their boredom but now I am curious to see how Tinder how it is used outside of a college setting. Whether it is the quick hookup culture that surrounds it or if people truly search for love. Again great essay.

  45. Calder Justice says:

    I can’t help but feel like your section concerning a feminist anthropological outlook on the Tinder app is somewhat lacking. Perhaps lacking isn’t the word. It isn’t as critical as I would like it to be. There doesn’t seen to be a particularly deep look at what the app might mean for the culture at large. What about connections to what social media, where ones image is really all that is presented, does to how one perceives him/herself? Could one say that the American tendency to care more about how we look be embodied by apps like tinder? Dunno. I liked your topic, direction, and, for the most part, your execution…but a little something more might have been nice in the feminist paragraph.

  46. Mariah Stoneman says:

    I definitely think it is such a shame that “hookup culture” is even a term. And even if technology does make things more convenient, I think it could hurt us in the long run. Times used to be different not too long ago. My sister, who was a college student a couple years ago, said it didn’t used to be like this. (maybe just her & her friends’ experiences) I would like to know more about when the change happened and why “hook up culture” transitioned into something so normal for our generation.

  47. Peter Koukov says:

    While reading this all i could think about is what my grandparents would think about tinder if you explained it to them in detail. I thought about how silly they would think it would be because of how different their years at the college age would have been. They never swiped their phone for the next person they would meet and become intimate with. It was much much more complicated and they probably didn’t hook up so much on the first date. There were probably a few more dates involved instead of just saying okay lets hook up right away. I really enjoyed reading this thank you!

    -Peter Koukov

Leave a Reply

